The Vengeful Polyglot

Burberry Luminous Sheer Liquid Foundation (and Lip Mist!)

Posted on: December 7, 2011

Having recently detailed a tale of foundation matching horror, let me now share a tale of makeup love and perfection. After returning Chanel’s Perfection Lumiere, I wandered around Nordstrom’s trying to decide where on earth to start looking for a new prospect. On my way to the Armani counter, my eye was caught by the beautiful packaging over by Burberry. So, what the hell? I gave it a shot.

This was the best decision I’ve made recently. I honestly don’t know why I didn’t think of Burberry earlier — it’s based in England, they clearly must support people who are ludicrously fair (har har). The artist quickly matched up with Burberry’s Luminous Sheer Liquid Foundation in Trench No.01, which despite the name is a rather medium-coverage foundation which comes in a variety of really-light to slightly-less-light shades (very encouraging for pale girls like me!)

As soon as she put it on me, I was pretty much in love. As someone who frequently is relegated to “the lightest shade they offer, and it probably doesn’t really match,” I’ve finally found a foundation which goes light enough for me. This is brilliant. It’s also buildable, and affords good coverage despite being described as sheer. It does exactly what a foundation should — it eliminates my redness and lets me start with a blank slate. It also has a pleasant luminous finish which catches the light nicely.

Here’s a swatch on my hand:

And here’s a look at the packaging without the cap:

Independent of the formula, which, seriously, I love, the packaging is incredibly luxurious and attractive. The unusually long cap with the Burberry check has a good heft to it and shuts with a satisfying click. The pump is user-friendly and locks, which is an amazing quality of life improvement for travel and even daily use. It’s beautiful and functional, my favorite combination.

Basically, I can’t say enough good things about this foundation. I’ve had it on for around seven hours now, and I still think it looks really presentable. Excellent!

To illustrate the difference properly matching foundation makes, here is no-makeup icky-Lauren versus Lauren with Chanel Perfection Lumiere:

And here is the same bare-faced Lauren versus my Burberry end look:

Granted, once I saw the color cast of the Chanel I didn’t bother finishing the rest of my makeup, but the difference in just the skin tone is amazing. That’s the color my foundation should be.

The rest of the makeup in the Burberry look I managed to walk away without… with the exception of the amazing lipcolor. Meet Burberry’s Lip Mist in Blueberry!

 

I may have been doomed as soon as I saw the adorable patterning on the lipstick itself. The packaging was bad enough! The lipstick casing is just as cute and functional with as the foundation — the cap is magnetic in this case, which is a feature I’ve grown to love via Armani.

The shade is a cool blue-red which looks, well, pretty much like blueberry juice. It’s sheer but buildable, and very wearable. Here’s a swatch on my hand:

Overall, I’m pretty sure this won’t be my last Burberry purchase — with such a wearable and enjoyable collection, I’d be hard pressed to not recommend these products and pretty much any others I tried. Excellent!

Leave a Reply

Blog by a programmer cum linguist cum writer cum total geek. One who pretentiously uses "cum" in place of any other logical connectives. Direct questions to the Ask Lauren page!

My Flickr Photostream

New York City

New York City

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

