The Vengeful Polyglot

The HTC Rhyme: Suddenly “Cute and Powerful” is Oxymoronic?

Posted on: October 3, 2011

Before I go off on a bit of a nerdrage tangent, let me just start by saying that I was really looking forward to this phone. I’ve been listening to every little HTC Bliss (now Rhyme) rumor since I heard it was going to have an adorable charm. It’s even purple. As I’ve mentioned previously, I’m a sucker for cute, girly things, so you can imagine I was pretty psyched for this phone to come out. For as much as I don’t believe we need to have devices marketed “for” women (I use my Android devices just fine, despite my genitalia), I certainly wouldn’t mind a more feminine aesthetic for my phone.

But that’s where we part ways, the HTC Rhyme and I, because under that flirty exterior are some amazingly lackluster specs. Last generation, even. Sure, it has Sense 3.5 and some special preview pane, but… no 4g and only a single-core processor. All the color-coordinated accessories in the world aren’t going to make up for the fact that, inside, this offers little more than my old Incredible currently does.

Without getting into a whole gender argument, I just don’t understand why it has to be this way. Of course, I’m sure there are women out there who want looks over power — and that’s fine. If I could bring myself to make that trade-off, I would. I just can’t justify wasting an upgrade on a phone that’s an upgrade in appearance alone. I would have loved something like this if it had competitive specs, but it just doesn’t. It would have been great, for the first Android for “women” to not see the assumption that the outside matters more than the inside.

I’m going to have to pass on this device and it sort of kills me. Sigh. For an excellent, hands-on review which also touches on the gender issue, I’d recommend this one over at TechCrunch.

Leave a Reply

Blog by a programmer cum linguist cum writer cum total geek. One who pretentiously uses "cum" in place of any other logical connectives. Direct questions to the Ask Lauren page!

My Flickr Photostream

New York City

New York City

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

