The Vengeful Polyglot

Shaman Tier 13 and Retrospective

Posted on: September 15, 2011

I’ve really been enjoying watching Blizzard release each T13 set along with the class’s armor retrospective, but so far only classes I wasn’t too attached to (read: not healers) had been rolled out. Today, my day in the sun came at last. Granted, I’ve never been too taken by the aesthetics of shaman tier with the exception of  T7, which I thought was really excellently made (T6 was neato, too, but I’ve never really played elemental and it had such a “lightning” lean to it that I don’t think I’d consider mogging to it), but I was still really excited to see what the art team came up with.

Here is the design philosophy they laid out for the shaman T13 above:

The best shaman sets are a mix of the animal and the elemental. This tier combines huge wolf-skull shoulder pads, bone fetishes, and fur with glowing shards of amber crystal. The entire set is lashed together with lengths of rope and heavily stitched leather, which lends the set a savage bearing.

Unfortunately, that last bit let me put my finger on why the set seemed a bit “off” to me. I don’t want to look like I’m wearing leather while equipping mail. I get the “savage” idea, but can’t mail look savage, too? If it were only accent, I would understand it, but the whole set looks leather to me. It’s nicely designed, and I get the theme, I just feel like it lost some of our class flavor. We’re only one of two mail classes; I don’t want to look like I’m a feral druid. I want to look like a shaman.

That said, I’m probably being too anal-retental about this armor-class issue, and otherwise the set is really great. Now that I’ve seen the shaman set, I can’t wait to see the one for priests — I almost always love priest tier, haha. I may never mog on my shaman, but you can bet I’ll have tons of sets on my priest.

Leave a Reply

Blog by a programmer cum linguist cum writer cum total geek. One who pretentiously uses "cum" in place of any other logical connectives. Direct questions to the Ask Lauren page!

My Flickr Photostream

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

