The Vengeful Polyglot

September 2011 Birchbox!

Posted on: September 13, 2011

I got my first ever Birchbox today! I really wasn’t expecting it, because my mom signed me up as a surprise. Exciting! Unfortunately, as far as this particular box goes, I wasn’t super impressed. I’m still really interested in the concept, though, and I’m looking forward to the coming months. To the unboxing!

The packaging is absolutely adorable. I really like the design aesthetic Birchbox uses. It’s clean and feminine, very nice. Included with the box is a little note explaining the philosophy behind this particular box (this time, it’s a “Thank You” box) and a listing of the products it contains.

Here are the products — a face moisturizer, nail decals, an eco-friendly perfume, a lip treatment, and a Birchbox friendship bracelet.

I’m not exactly too fond of animal prints, so I’m giving the nail decals to my mom. I have been interested by the idea of them, though, so it’s a nice inclusion. It’s only the pattern that I don’t like.

The bracelet is cute, too. I’ll probably wear it. I didn’t very much care of the scent of the perfume, though, so that was a loss. While I enjoy eco-friendly products, I’m not impressed purely by virtue of their sustainability. Scent is such a personal thing, though; it may suit someone else’s tastes quite well.

The face moisturizer has a nice texture, but it felt weird on my skin once it dried. Almost a bit sting-y. The scent is also pretty strong and not to my liking. Pass. 😦

This lip treatment was all right. I have super dry lips so I was looking forward to trying it out. It stayed moist and a bit shiny on my lips for a few hours, but I didn’t feel too much “repair” functionality. At least, not compared to the La Mer lip balm I’m used to. Since it’s a sample size, the applicator is also a bit uncomfortable to use. That is par for the course for this sort of sample collection, though, so I can’t really hold it against them. I just didn’t see too much improvement from the product itself.

Overall, like I said, I wasn’t really too thrilled with the particular products in this box. I still think the service is brilliant, though, and I’m so excited to see upcoming boxes. Even if these weren’t to my personal preference, it’s well worth the $10 to check out new products. Not to mention fun!

Leave a Reply

Blog by a programmer cum linguist cum writer cum total geek. One who pretentiously uses "cum" in place of any other logical connectives. Direct questions to the Ask Lauren page!

My Flickr Photostream

New York City

New York City

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

