The Vengeful Polyglot

LA Photography!

Posted on: September 13, 2011

Short hair! Don’t judge based on terribad picture; it’s a bit cuter than it seems.

I haven’t posted in a bit because I’ve been busy officially moving back to LA. It’s very weird having all my stuff in one place and not knowing when I’ll next wind up in Irvine. I suppose I’ll adapt to not being nomadic at some point. At least my bedroom set is finally together and I can have artwork on the walls (and by artwork, I mean lots and lots of WoW posters)!

I’ve decided to take up photography to hopefully fill up my “break” time between graduation and applying to jobs/grad school, because I think I’ll go insane doing nothing. Even though I really enjoy the arts, I’ve never been too good at them. Particularly with drawing and painting, what my motor skills are capable of producing is nothing like what I see in my head. I’ve always thought perhaps I’d do better at photography — even if I can’t “make” something that looks how I imagine, if I learn to capture beautiful things that already exist, I may do better.

To that end, I have a lovely new Canon Rebel T3i from my mom equipped with the kit lens (18-55mm). I am trying to do pictures! And Lightroom! Things are going so-so, but at least I have a general idea of how to shoot in manual and process RAWs. I have such intense lens envy, though. I think I have like 7 lenses on my wishlist, even limiting to lenses ~$500 or below. Damn you, expensive hobbies! Anyway, here are a few of the pictures I’ve taken so far that don’t totally embarrass me.

Leave a Reply

Blog by a programmer cum linguist cum writer cum total geek. One who pretentiously uses "cum" in place of any other logical connectives. Direct questions to the Ask Lauren page!

My Flickr Photostream

New York City

New York City

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

