The Vengeful Polyglot

Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette

Posted on: January 12, 2012

I’m going to consider it kismet that the day I finally got around to publishing my review of Urban Decay’s Naked palette, Naked 2 was teased for the first time. Perhaps I am some sort of makeup prophetess! Or maybe it was a coincidence. Either way, I ordered Naked 2 “hot off the press,” as it were, the day it launched. So far, I’m very pleased with it! While it might not have been strictly necessary to have both palettes (does one really need 23 neutral eyeshadows?), I find myself using both of them constantly, usually in combination.

As hard as it is to avoid, this review will attempt to isolate the qualities of Naked 2, independent of its cult-favorite predecessor. I’ll be doing a post later on comparing the two. This palette includes 12 full-sized shadows, an exclusive-to-this-palette, double-ended Good Karma Shadow/Crease Brush, and a travel-size Lip Junkie Lipgloss in Naked for $50. I’m also going to toss in my review of the travel-size Eldorado 24/7 Liner I got as a sample when ordering because I think it fits the “theme” so well. Overall, this is yet another palette with tremendously good value and versatile application from Urban Decay.

 

Packaging

The packaging is incredibly sharp-looking. The case is taupe metal with brown embossing and snaps closed securely. The mirror inside is quite large, and the eyeshadows are nicely separated. Basically, it looks classy. Here’s the exterior:

And here’s the interior:

The packaging is aesthetically pleasing and functional, as well as being secure and slim enough that it’s comfortable to take with you for touch ups. I found no flaws!

 

Eyeshadows

From left to right:

  • Foxy: Matte yellow beige
  • Half Baked: Shimmering gold
  • Bootycall: Iridescent peach
  • Chopper: Glittery copper
  • Tease: Matte dusky brown
  • Snakebite: Shimmering dark brown
  • Suspect: Shimmering gold beige
  • Pistol: Shimmering dark greige
  • Verve: Shimmering greige
  • YDK: Shimmering dusky bronze
  • Busted: Shimmering burgundy
  • Blackout: Matte black

Pardon the copy-pasta, but my opinion of these eyeshadows is just as high as with the original Naked palette:

I have always loved the texture and color payoff of UD eyeshadows and these are no exception. They’re soft and blendable with admirable pigmentation; this goes for both the metallic and matte shades, which is awesome. Foxy is slightly chalky, but definitely usable. Even without a primer, I didn’t notice any fallout — with one exception. Despite being a color I’d like to use, Chopper has such large pieces of glitter that it winds up all over me even when using a primer. It’s workable, though, and one shadow out of twelve with issues is hardly cause to complain, though, when the rest are so sublime.

What bears saying about these shadows is the amount of flexibility they afford you. From cool to warm, from shimmery to matte, from highlighters to contours, these colors cover so many bases that you can create a ton of looks to suit any occasion. The palette does tend toward the cooler end of things, but I can’t imagine these not working with every complexion. This is another unparalleled everyday palette from Urban Decay — kudos!

Here are all of the shadows swatched on my arm:

 

 

Lipgloss, Brush, Eyeliner

As a pleasant surprise, I enjoy the “auxilliary” items included with the palette almost as much as the eyeshadows! With a lipgloss, “two” brushes, and an eyeliner, all I’d need for an on-the-go, basic look would be a blush. I’m becoming more and more impressed by Urban Decay each time I try a new product. They’re quickly becoming one of my staple brands.

I’ve never used an Urban Decay lipgloss before, but I’m definitely open to them after trying out Naked, pictured above. It’s an iridescent, neutral pink that is light enough alone for a minimal lip, but which would also look lovely layered over any number of lipsticks. It’s a flexible color, in line with the “Naked” theme. Here’s a swatch:

And here’s it on me:

Definitely a flattering color! It’s also mint-scented and tingly on the lips. I’m not sure what else to say other than that using it is pleasant, and I think it’s a good, basic lipgloss.

I am also ecstatic that this palette came equipped with a flexible brush. It’s double-ended: on one end is a flat shadow brush, and on the other is a fluffy crease/blending brush.

This is an excellent brush. It’s cruelty-free, which is always a plus. I find myself reaching for this even when I’m not using this palette. Seriously, I can’t find anything to complain about. The flat end is great for packing shadow on the lid or liner work, and the crease brush is wonderful for blending. Really excellent. This reminds me why I should invest in more good brushes.

While this isn’t actually included in the palette, it was the sample I got when I ordered it, so I consider it relevant! Eldorado is a shimmering gold eyeliner that looks somewhat similar to the Half Baked eyeshadow above.

Here’s a swatch on my hand:

I have one other Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliner (it’s green!) and I think they’re just excellent. They’re smooth to put on and last for ages. I personally like to use this under the eye when doing a gold-based look. Be warned, though: I’m fairly cool myself, and on cool-toned complexions it might look slightly washed out or jaundice-y.

 

Sample Looks

I initially tried to showcase one daytime and one nighttime look for this palette by doing one on each eye. When I processed the photos, though… it was completely unclear that there was much of a difference between the two. On the left is a brown-y daytime look and on the right is a more pewter evening look. At least, that’s what I was going for:

Here’s a close-up on the right eye/night time look:

For the daytime look, I used Suspect and Snakebite on the lid and Bootycall to highlight. For the nighttime look, I used YDK, Verve, and Pistol on the lid, and carried pistol underneath the eye. I have a fairly light hand, so often what I think of as “dramatic” comes out looking pretty manageable, but these colors can definitely look more striking than in the photos above.

 

Overall Verdict

As with the original Naked palette, this colors in this palette are incredibly versatile and… just excellent in every way. I can see this becoming a new staple for many, myself included! Whether you should invest in this already having the original is a question I intend to address in my comparison post (though I suppose that, given I own both, my opinion is fairly obvious), but Naked 2 definitely holds its own as a standalone palette. These shades are more on the cool end of the neutral spectrum, but are still eminently wearable on different skin tones. As with the original, this is a tremendous value: to buy all of the shadows individually would cost over $200, and that’s ignoring the fact that several are exclusive to this palette and that there are “extras” included. In my opinion, you just can’t go wrong. A worthwhile successor to a fan favorite!

Obligatory more-attractive shot from my birthday!

2 Responses to "Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette"

[…] reviewed both Urban Decay’s original Naked palette, as well as its much anticipated followup, Naked 2, I’d now like to take the chance to compare the two palettes for those who might be curious […]

[…] between six different kinds of pink. (For those who are interested, I also updated my Naked, Naked 2, and True Blood palette reviews with swatches.)  Here are the quads swatched on my arm as they […]

Leave a Reply

Blog by a programmer cum linguist cum writer cum total geek. One who pretentiously uses "cum" in place of any other logical connectives. Direct questions to the Ask Lauren page!

My Flickr Photostream

Charly as Wood Nymph

Charly as Wood Nymph

More Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

